Mabuhay Foundation 6th Annual Filipino American Community Event

Kimball Park, National City, California, Mabuhay Foundation with the leadership of Ms. Ditas Yamane, Founder and Executive Director celebrates 6th the Filipino American Community Independence Day on Saturday, June 11, 2016, 10:00 AM – 4:00PM.  This event focuses on the theme “Honoring Philippine Independence Celebrating our Language, Culture, and Diversity.”

Mrs. Myrna Ablana, CTFLC President- Elect, with the help of Dr. Atilio Alicio, Mrs. Grace Almazar, Ms. Carole Caparros, and Mr. Fred Zara prepared the CTFLC booth.  Throughout the day, CTFLC members take turn in staffing the booth.

Previously, Ms. Yamane asked CTFLC to facilitate the Mabuhay scholarship with the assistance of Dr. Ofelia Rayos, Dr. Dumaran, CTFLC Pres. Jacquilin Magat-Lapid, and Mrs. Germilina Solar.  CTFLC teachers encouraged their students to write an essay to be submitted for the scholarship.

Today, the Mabuhay Scholarship recipients received cash, medallions, and certificates.  They are the following: 

  1. John Paul Ablana --- Mira Mesa High School
  2. Angeli Flores -- Olympian High School
  3. Katrina Joy Domingo -- Otay Ranch High School
  4. Cynthia Lee Moeller -- Mar Vista High School
  5. Julius Castro -- Sweetwater High School

 Although CTFLC Pres. Jacquilin Magat-Lapid was not present, her students from Bell Middle School sang Smokey Mountain hit song “Better World.”